Board of Directors

Jeremy Maycock

Non-executive Director since October 2006 and Chairman since 21 October 2010

MaycockGreenIndependent: Yes 

Committees: Chair of the Nominations Committee.

Directorships: Chairman of Port of Brisbane Pty Ltd, Director of The Smith Family and BRW Building Services Pty Limited. Formerly a Non-executive Director of Nuplex Ltd and Chairman of Arrium Ltd.

Experience: Jerry has had a long commercial career in senior business roles in Australia, New Zealand and South East Asia, the majority of his experience being in construction materials with Swiss group Holcim Ltd. Lately, he held CEO and MD positions in Australian listed companies including CSR Ltd. Jerry is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Institute of Professional Engineers NZ.

Andrew Vesey

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer


2016Andy200x200Independent: No

Directorships: No

Experience: Andy Vesey has over 30 years’ experience in the energy industry including strategic and commercial leadership of large energy organisations, and working in complex regulatory and political environments. He was COO, Global Utilities for AES in 20 countries, led the Utility Finance and Regulatory Advisory Practice at FTI Consulting Inc., was a Partner in the Energy, Chemicals and Utilities Practice of Ernst & Young LLP, and CEO and Managing Director of Citipower Pty Ltd in Melbourne. His experience extends across the energy supply chain, including power development, generation, distribution and retail businesses.

Andy has served as AGL Energy’s Managing Director and CEO since 12 February 2015.

Peter Botten

Non-executive Director since October 2016

PeterBottenIndependent: Yes

Committees: Member of the Safety, Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Directorships: Chair of Hela Provincial Health Authority, the National Football Stadium Trust in Papua New Guinea and Business for Development Australia. Managing Director of Oil Search Limited, Council Member of the Australia PNG Business Council and Director of the Oil Search Foundation.

Experience: Peter has been Chief Executive Officer of Oil Search Limited since 1994, overseeing its development into a major Australian Securities Exchange-listed company. Peter has extensive worldwide experience in the oil and gas industry, holding various senior technical, managerial and board positions in a number of listed and government-owned organisations.

Jacqueline Hey

Non-executive Director since March 2016

HeyJacquelineIndependent: Yes

Committees: Member of Audit and Risk Management Committee, Nominations Committee and Safety, Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility Committee.

Directorships: Director of Qantas Airways Limited, Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited, Australian Foundation Investment Company Ltd, Cricket Australia, Melbourne Business School and Member of Brighton Grammar School Council. Jacqueline retired as a Director of Special Broadcasting Service (SBS) in June 2016.

Experience: Jacqueline has enjoyed a successful executive career prior to becoming a full time company director in 2011. Jacqueline has extensive experience in the areas of information technology, telecommunications and marketing. Jacqueline worked with Ericsson for more than 20 years in finance, marketing and sales and in leadership roles in Australia, Sweden, the UK and the Middle East.

Leslie Hosking

Non-executive Director since November 2008

HoskingGreenIndependent: Yes

Committees: Chair of the People and Performance Committee, Member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Directorships: Chair of Adelaide Brighton Limited and Adjunct Professor of the University of Sydney John Grill Centre for Project Leadership.

Experience: Les has over 30 years of experience in trading, broking and management in metals, soft commodities, energy and financial instrument derivatives in the global futures industry. He was previously a Director of Innovation Australia Pty Limited, Australian Energy Market Operator (Transition) Limited (AEMO), Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of NEMMCo and a non-executive Director of NEMMCo.

Graeme Hunt

Non-executive Director since September 2012

HuntgreenIndependent: Yes

Committees: Chair of Safety, Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility Committee, Member of the People and Performance Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Directorships: Chair of the National Resources Science Precinct, President of the Australian Mines and Minerals Association and Chair of the Western Australian Energy Research Alliance.

Experience: Graeme brings to AGL extensive experience in establishing and operating large capital projects. He was previously a non-executive Director of Transfield Services Limited (May 2012 to November 2012), Managing Director of G. P. Hunt Associates Pty Ltd, Chief Executive Officer of Lihir Gold Limited and he has held a number of senior executive positions with the BHP Billiton Group.

Belinda Hutchinson

Non-executive Director since December 2010

HutchinsonGreenIndependent: Yes

Committees: Member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee, People and Performance Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Directorships: Chair of Thales Australia Limited and Future Generation Global Investment Company Limited. Chancellor of the University of Sydney, Director of Australian Philanthropic Services, Member of the Salvation Army Australian Eastern Territorial Advisory Board and St Vincent’s Health Australia NSW Advisory Council.

Experience: Belinda has extensive experience in non-executive roles including as Chairman of QBE Insurance Limited (2010 to March 2014), a Director of Telstra Limited, Coles Group Limited, Energy Australia Limited, Snowy Hydro Trading Limited, TAB Limited and Crane Group Limited. She was previously an Executive Director of Macquarie Group Limited and Vice President of Citibank Limited.

Diane Smith-Gander

Non-executive Director since September 2016

Crop Diane Smith Gander Feb 2016 132Independent: Yes

Committees: Member of the Safety, Sustainability and Corporate Responsibility Committee, People and Performance Committee and the Nominations Committee. 

Directorships: Chair of Safe Work Australia and Asbestos Safety and Eradication Council, Director of Wesfarmers Limited, Keystart Loans Limited, Henry Davis York, Councillor of Methodist Ladies College and Member of the UWA Business School Advisory Board.  Diane recently retired as Chairman of Broadspectrum Limited (formerly Transfield Services) and as President and Director of Chief Executive Women.

Experience: Diane has extensive Australian and international experience in banking and finance, technology, and strategic and management consulting. This includes as a former Partner at McKinsey & Company in Washington DC and New Jersey in the US, and Group Executive IT and Operations, Westpac Banking Corporation.

John Stanhope

Non-executive Director since March 2009

StanhopeGreenIndependent: Yes

Committees: Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee, a Member of the People and Performance Committee, and the Nominations Committee.

Directorships: Chair of Australia Post, Port of Melbourne, The Bionics Institute of Australia, Melbourne Jazz Limited and Chancellor of Deakin University, Honorary Fellow of the University of Melbourne and Member of the International Integrated Reporting Committee Governance and Nominations Committee.

Experience: John has many years of experience in senior positions in financial, communications and other commercial organisations. He was previously a member of the Financial Reporting Council, and a Director of RACV Ltd and of Telstra Corporation Limited.